East District Short BAR

The format of the competition remains the same for 2021.
As in previous years there is no entry fee or registration required - you just needed to ride seven events; however whilst there will still be no need to pre-register, you will need to submit your qualifying rides to Gary Smith no later than 31st October (don’t worry a reminder will be published at the end of the season)
You will need to include your name and club along with the date and event plus the time you achieved.
Any entries should be emailed to abcccoachgary@gmail.com
The competition is open to all members of EDCA affiliated clubs. Only open events held on B courses qualify, including EDCA events, however association events such as VTTA and ECCA events do not count.
Men’s Competition: 4 x 10 miles and 3 x 25 miles
Woman’s Competition: 3 x 10 miles and 2 x 25 miles
The true average speed over the distance (115 miles for men, 80 miles for women) will be calculated
** In 2021 there will be an award for the Best Improved rider ** To be in contention for this you will need to provide results for both 2019 and 2020 seasons.
Please check the district website and facebook for updates and past results.
Good luck!
Gary Smith Short Distance Competition Secretary

2019 was a difficult year with many events being cancelled or postponed due to the weather, which probably made it a bit more challenging for riders to complete the required number of events and therefore numbers are down for this competition.  Hopefully 2020 will be an improvement!  Well done to Gary Smith (Team Velovelocity) and Jan Smith (Great Yarmouth) on first place in the men's and women's events.


Rider Club/team Ave mph
Gary Smith Team Velovelocity 25.97
Mark Fairhead CC Breckland 23.73
David Fenn CC Sudbury 20.72



Rider Club/team Ave mph
Jan Smith Great Yarmouth CC 24.24
Jemma Redhead Wisbech Wheelers 22.65